Somare says decision to contest election will be made next week

15/05/2012 17:18

Sir Michael making his speech at Radio East Sepik. Picture courtesy of Ben Kedoga

 

Papua New Guinea’s founding prime minister Sir Michael Somare is yet to decide whether to contest the general election despite reports this morning he will run for the East Sepik regional seat.

Reports from Wewak, the provincial capital for his home province East Sepik, indicated that the veteran MP will lead the National Alliance Party (NA) into the elections. However according to the copy of his speech at Radio East Sepik this morning, which his daughter and media spokesperson Betha distributed this afternoon, he will make a decision next week after meeting with leaders in the province. 

“The events of August 2 have affected the numbers within the National Alliance Party. The question of leadership has not been decided; however the party has decided that I will remain its leader until the formation of the new government.  While I personally would like to stand down, I had a lot of reactions against the proposal last week. I will therefore be going to East Sepik next week to sit with people and leaders of each of the six districts and will then make my decision whether or not to stand again,” he said.

Sir Michael, who entered politics in 1968 and was the country’s founding PM, also lashed out at the O’Neill government for not giving him the opportunity to bid farewell to PNG in the last session of the PNG parliament.

“My fellow people of East Sepik and all Papua New Guineans, in a few days the writs are going to be issued and my team of parliamentarians, our lawyers and the Nation still awaits the decision of the Supreme Court to reaffirm the legitimacy of my government. As we wait, time is running out and this is exactly what this illegal group had hoped.  Based on their illegal antics, it is almost certain that, after 44 years in Parliament, they have robbed me of the right to make my final address to the Nation from the National Parliament. For this reason, I take this opportunity to speak openly to my people of East Sepik and Papua New Guinea as a whole.”